Book Launch Party in Sioux Falls for “On With the Butter!” by Heidi Herman

Heidi Herman will be at Books N’ Brewz Pizzeria in Sioux Falls on August 13, 2020 from 6pm-8pm. It’s a party to celebrate the launch of her new book On With the Butter! and you’re invited. Prizes and giveaways include free book copies plus some surprises, and of course, pizza!

Author Heidi Herman will host a chapter reading followed by Q&A. Copies of the book will be available for purchase and you can have them personally autographed. If you pre-order now, you can pick up your autographed copy at the event and receive a special gift. (Use promo code PARTY so you’re not charged shipping.)

Early reviews rave about this fun, motivational book that’s sure to appeal to anyone looking to add activity to life, but especially the 50+ crowd.

“The adventures of many daring challengers, including the author’s mother and herself, are expertly documented in this book. These intriguing stories should prove an inspiration to all. At the end of each chapter, there is a list of more robust challenges for readers to try. Herman’s inspiring work offers a fresh perspective on living well at any age.” – US Review of Books RECOMMENDED

“On with the Butter is a delight to read. There are so many good suggestions for anyone considering retirement or already retired. This is not a book like so very many that only consider money and financial matters. Just the opposite. A good retirement is about so much more and this book addresses that.” – Del Lowery, RetirementTalk.org

“An inspiring book for us “retired” people. Fifteen chapters explore many avenues of life where we can find new challenges to enable us to: “Keep Moving, Keep Doing, Keep Living.” It’s a delightful, fun read. Everyone who is about to retire or is retired should read this book. You won’t regret it.” – Vic Broquard, Author & Retired Professor.

Book Synopsis: Carry on, keep doing what you’re doing, forge ahead, and keep moving. Icelanders have a saying for it: Áfram með Smjörið – on with the butter! If you’re looking for new ways to add zest to your life or have free time in retirement, this book offers a wide variety of activities and challenges, along with inspiring and heartwarming stories. Discover ways to explore, play, take chances, try new things, make a difference, and have more fun in life. You’re the activities director, and On with the Butter! is your guidebook. So keep moving, keep doing, and keep spreading more living onto everyday life.

The event is free, but due to limited capacity and to ensure social distancing, tickets are requested. (Masks are encourage and will be provided if you need one). Click on REGISTER on eventbrite to reserve your ticket and join me to celebrate!

‘Bunco: A Comedy About The Drama of Friendship’ by Robin Delnoce

Bunco: A Comedy About The Drama of Friendship is a new book by Robin Delnoce. Recommended for fans of Bridesmaids, Desperate Housewives, and Bad Moms. Bunco was released in August 2020 and is available for sale on Amazon. Genre: Women’s Fiction / Women’s Humorous Fiction 

Synopsis:

We all have “those” friends.  Maybe you’ve known them since childhood, or met in college, or while waiting for a child’s practice to end. Maybe you found yourself living on the same street. There’s no single path to friendship. Relationships don’t follow a script and neither do the lives of smart, funny, complicated suburban women.

Jill, Anne, Mary, and Rachel met years ago through a neighborhood group that regularly got together to play a dice game called bunco. Although players have come and gone, they continue to use bunco as an excuse to abandon their day-to-day responsibilities and enjoy food, drinks, and the company of their best friends. 

When new neighbors move in under the cover of night, the foursome sees an opportunity to expand their bunco circle. But within hours, suspicions run rampant as the odd behaviors of the newest residents are interpreted differently. Are they quirky, or kinky? Diabolical, or misunderstood? Time after time, as the truth sheds light on some secrets, more emerge. Each woman finds herself shocked by the friends she thought she knew.

Through the friendly banter, intimate confessions, and tongue-twisting insults, you may see yourself or your friends in these characters. Wipe away tears of laughter and loss as you join the four metaphorical rounds of bunco, and feel part of the conversation. Whether engaging in playful exploits, providing unconditional support, making uncomfortable sacrifices, or winding up in handcuffs again, these ladies are those rarest of friends who become true family. Of course, families don’t follow a script either, unless it is a plot-twisting, slightly off-color comedy about the drama of friendship. And bunco, sort of.


Excerpt:

EMERGENCY AREA WAITING ROOM – DAWN

The early morning daylight begins to fill the foyer of a hospital waiting room packed with police officers.

ANNE HUTCHINSON, an athletic, petite woman in her early 40s, is sitting dazed and exhausted in bloodstained clothes.

JILL MICHAELS stands behind Anne with her phone to her ear. Over a decade has passed since Jill’s tenure as Miss South Carolina ended, but she currently reigns over the local elementary school as parent council president. She masks her anxiety with her polished manners and pleasant southern accent.

JILL

Good morning Miss Lowe, this is Mrs. Michaels. I hope your morning is going well. Would you be a dear and let Mrs. Kaiser know I won’t be able to attend today’s parent council meeting?

A police officer watches Jill closely as he patrols the room. She reads the judgment on the officer’s face.

Jill

Actually, I may not be able to attend tomorrow’s fundraiser either. I’ll call y’all back as soon as I know. Thank you so much, Miss Lowe.

Jill ends her call, sighs heavily, and takes a seat next to Anne.

RACHEL EASTON, a mid-40s, Midwest-born, and Irish-proud woman, is asleep on the opposite chair. Handcuffs dangle from one of Rachel’s wrists. When awake, Rachel harbors a deep and painful secret that manifests itself in belligerent and self-destructive behavior.

A NURSE passes by the three women. The aroma emanating from Rachel’s general vicinity stops her in her tracks. 

Nurse

How long has this homeless woman been sleeping here?

Jill

She’s not homeless. She’s with us.

The nurse shakes her head in disgust and continues on her way.

MARY HUESTON approaches the women with coffee in her hands. Now in her early 40s, Mary has traded her Hollywood acting auditions for youth soccer games, and her figure has become less “soap opera star” and more “community bake sale.” She hands Jill and Anne the steaming Styrofoam cups.

Mary

Here. Should we wake Rachel?

Mary begins to take a seat next to Rachel but quickly pivots to allow more breathing room. They each deeply inhale the cup’s contents to mask the aroma. 

Jill

She’s been through a lot. Let’s let her sleep.

Mary

We’ve all been through a lot.

Mary notices Anne staring off in the distance.

Mary

How ya doing Anne? 

Anne slowly brings her attention to Mary.

Mary

You okay?

Anne silently examines her bloodstained clothes, contemplates her predicament, and shakes her head in disbelief.

Anne

(Under her breath)

Fucking bunco.


About the Author:

Robin Delnoce has the kind of sense of humor that would crush any political aspirations. Her off-color humor amuses most but offends a few, and she has been known to issue a post-party apology or two. After twenty years of being caught in her verbal crosshairs, her husband kindly suggested she shift her energies to a more constructive outlet.

To learn more, go to https://buncothebook.com/